Secretsofmommyhood

Heartache of a new kind

Posted on: February 2, 2015

As I’ve gone through my life I’ve experienced loss in many different forms. The loss of friends from moving away, loss of pets who have died, loss of family members who have passed away…but today brought a loss of a new kind; the loss of a student whom I loved dearly.

Lauren was a special girl. She was very talented, smiled all the time,was full of joy and exuberance, full of love to give to others and she was loved by many in return. I had the priviledge of directing Lauren in a musical and watching her grow and blossom as a performer and as a young lady. Last week she suffered a brain anurysm and, sadly, passed away today.

Her loss saddens me and leaves me feeling empty and filled with many questions. I’ll never understand how God works and why he chooses to take whom he does when he does. Why should a 15 year old girl who is as beautiful on the outside as she is on the inside be taken away so soon? It seems senseless and meaningless. Deep down I know God has His reasons, but it’s hard to comprehend that.

As a mother, I ache for her parents. Just the thought of losing my boys brings tears to my eyes. I can only imagine what the actual loss feels like. No parent should ever have to bury their child. My heart goes out to them and I pray God brings them comfort and peace.

Her loss also makes me realize just how precious life really is. We walk around every day thinking we’re going to live forever. We don’t ever think we’ll get cancer or another fatal disease; we don’t think we’ll get into a terrible car accident or a plane crash and die; we don’t think we’ll be one of the victims of the next meaningless mass murder in a school or movie theater. We think we’re invincible. But, in all honesty, we just don’t know. We don’t know how much longer we have. Every day we go about our lives and take for granted the things we do, the people we care about, how we live our daily lives. It sounds cliche to us when people say to make sure to tell your loved ones how much you care because you just never know. But, that’s exactly what we need to be doing. We need to tell those most important to us how much we love them, how much we care about them and how much they mean to us. We can’t take any moment for granted.

I tell my husband and my children every day that I love them. I realize today there are others in my life I need to tell also; to make sure they know how much they are loved and cared for.

Take the time to tell your loved ones how you feel. Don’t wait.

To my family and friends whom I hold so dear, I love you all so very much. You mean more to me then you will ever know!

Lauren, my sweet girl, you won’t ever be forgotten. I will always remember your beautiful smile, your bubbly personality, the way you sang and danced so beautifully on stage, what a great friend you were to those closest to you, how you touched many lives, including mine. You will forever be in my heart. I love you.

Lauren

5 Responses to "Heartache of a new kind"

This just makes me so sad! I will be praying for her family.

Thank you so much for the prayers!

Love you Leah. Praying for you today.

[…] Heartache of a new kind […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

See what else I’m up to!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

I was featured on:

http://christinetrevino.com/2012/03/02/momma-dreamer-week-2-leah-from-secretsofmommyhood/?preview=true

Archives

Check out my contributor posts for Columbia SC Moms Blog

Check out my contributor posts for Military Moms Blog

Vote For Me @ The Top Mommy Blogs Directory